election results

Bollywood’s election fever

Bollywood’s election fever

The world’s biggest election results are out and we’re all set to see Narendra Modi taking oath as the 14th Prime Minister of our country. Even our very own Bollywood stars had their own share of success and defeats. Below are the lists.


Kirron Kher School: BJP Class: Chandigarh Marks: 1,91,362. In Chandigarh’s battle, Kirron won by 69,642 votes, defeating Congress’ Pawan Kumar Bansal and AAP’s Gul Panag. Even her husband, actor Anupam Kher tweeted: – “Achche Din Aa Gaye. Jai Ho.:) – Congratulations @KirronKherBJP for winning the Chandigarh Parliamentary seat by a margin of more than 69000 votes. Jai Ho.:)”

Vinod Khanna School: BJP Class: Gurdaspur, Marks: 4,82,255 Vinod Khanna defeated Punjab Congress President Pratap Singh Bajwa by 1,36,065 votes.

Manoj Tiwari School: BJP Class: North East Delhi Marks: 5,96,125 The Bhojpuri singer and actor won by 1,44,084 votes, defeating AAP’s Anand Kumar.

Paresh Rawal School: BJP Class: Ahmedabad East Marks: 6,33,582 Paresh Rawal defeated Congress candidate Patel Himmat Singh Prahlad Singh by a margin of 3,26,633 votes. Rawal’s friend and actor Suniel Shetty had earlier joined him for his election campaign.

Hema Malini School: BJP Class: Mathura Marks: 5,74,633. Hema Malini managed to win despite people shouting “go back” at her very first day of campaigning. After her victory, she tweeted, “The confidence & love shown by Brijwasis has me so humbled! Even I did not imagine such a huge margin! Final count winning by 3 50 567 votes!”

Babul Supriyo School: BJP Class: Asansol Marks: 4,19,983 Singer Babul Supriyo won his seat by a margin of 70,480 votes. When asked how he sees this new role of being a politician, he says, “When I was performing as a singer, I would get requests from people to sing songs. Even now, I have to go to people and listen to their requests. Only the nature of requests is going to change. Earlier it was songs, and now, the requests are going to be about schools, water.”

Shatrughan Sinha School: BJP Class: Patna Sahib Marks: 4,85,905 Shotgun Sinha has khamosh-ed everyone, winning by a majority of 2,65,805 votes. Thanking the people for his win, the actor tweeted, “Thank you to the people of Patna Sahib, well wishers & all BJP supporters for their hard work who helped me win by record margin”. Even Sonakshi couldn’t hold back, tweeting, “A BIG thank you to everyone who contributed to @ShatruganSinha’s win in Patna Sahib today and BJP’s win all over! #AbKiBaarModiSarkaar”

Moon Moon Sen School: All India Trinamool Congress, Class: Bankura, Marks: 4,83,455 The yesteryears s*x siren won by a margin of 98,506 votes. Sen, in her poll debut, defeated nine-time MP Acharia Basudeb of the CPI (M), who had been winning without a break since 1980.


Gul Panag School: AAP Class: Chandigarh Marks: 10867 Gul set a new standard for campaigning, zipping around on her Bullet with a biker entourage. She conceded defeat to Kirron, tweeting, “My heartiest congratulations to @KirronKherBJP”.

Rakhi Sawant School: Rashtriya Aam Party Class: Mumbai North West Marks: 2006 “I lost as I didn’t have crores. My situation is better than Kejri’s. People at least know my party.”

Ravi Kishan School: Congress Class: Jaunpur Marks: 42,759

Smriti Irani School: BJP Class: Amethi Marks: 30,0748

Bappi Lahiri School: BJP Class: Srerampur Marks: 2,87,712

Nagma School: Congress Class: Meerut Marks: 42,911

Mahesh Manjrekar School: Maharashtra Navnirman Sena Class: North-west Mumbai Marks: 66,088

Prakash Jha School: Janata Dal (United) Class: Paschim Champaran Marks: 2,60,978 The director lost an election for a third time from this constituency.

Raj Babbar School: Congress Class: Ghaziabad Marks: 1,91,222