Indian Premier League Opening Ceremony, Highlights
Indian Premier League Opening Ceremony, Highlights

Indian Premier League Opening Ceremony, Highlights

Indian Premier League Opening Ceremony, Highlights

Despite of rain, a curtailed opening ceremony featured a host of stars who delivered an electric performance ahead of the eight edition of Indian Premier League.

As now the IPL 2015 is officially open! Bollywood stars are making their way for cricketing heroes .

Music director Pritam started opening ceremony with a Rabindra Sangeet – Anandaloke. Dancers wearing traditional bengali sarees dance to the famous song.

In the opening ceremony, Hrithik’s performance gets the loudest applause as the actor’s name was chanted by fans with energy. Hrithik Roshan’s energetic performance adds zesty touch to proceedings.

Before Hrithik Roshan, Farhan Akhtar’s voice reverberated across the stadium as he comes out to perform with his band – Farhan Live!

After these performances, the Captains took the MCC Spirit of Game oath. They signed the Spirit of Cricket bat to uphold the spirit of the game at all times.

Earlier – on Monday, all eyes in Kolkata turned towards one couple. RCB captain Virat Kohli touched down in the city with actress girlfriend Anushka Sharma.

Anushka Sharma was greeted with cheer from spectators. She took the stage with a graceful dance from PK and Jab Tak Hain Jaan numbers. Virat Kohli revealed a smile as girlfriend Anushka’s performance comes to a spectacular end.

Shahid also performed at the opening ceremony. Shahid delivered an electric performance which ended with fireworks and laser lights.

Shahid Kapoor started his performance riding a bike onto the stage. Gets a massive applause. The actor, though, hits a ramp slightly. He then slips on the stage but recovers quickly.

Massive applause was seen as team captains make their way out. Rohit was the first, followed by Shikhar Dhawan, JP Duminy, Shane Watson and others.

In IPL history, Chennai have won the title twice while Kolkata have claimed the title as many times. Shane Warne led Rajasthan Royals to the title in the inaugural season.

Here’s what you must know about the event today:

– The opening ceremony will be conducted by Bollywood actor Saif Ali Khan.
– The event will take place over two hours at the iconic Salt Lake Stadium. It will start at 7:30 PM.
– Anushka, Hrithik and Shahid will be performing on Bollywood numbers. Farhan Akhtar will be performing with his band.
– All eight captains will be present at the event and will take the MCC Spirit of Cricket Pledge.
– Captain of defending champions Kolkata Knight Riders – Gautam Gambhir – will put the trophy back in play. This will signal the official start of the tournament.